Apply for our scholarship online
Open and print our application instructions (PDF)
Open and print our scholarship application (PDF)
Open and print our scholarship flyer (PDF)


The AAUW Greater Wayne Area Branch Scholarship Committee awards annual scholarships for women returning to college to complete an initial associate’s or bachelor’s degree. The scholarships are intended to help ease the burden of college expenses for the recipients. Scholarship recipients are selected by the AAUW Greater Wayne Branch scholarship committee.

Our 2016 scholarship winners were Aziza McGill-Ayinde and Danielle Radiola.   Aziza is a student at William Paterson University, Wayne, NJ.  She has bravely overcome overwhelming family stressors.  Aziza is majoring in Broadcast Journalism, with a minor in Women and Gender Studies.  Her aspiration is to use her degree to continue to raise awareness about child sexual abuse and domestic violence.

Aziza McGill-Ayinde

Aziza McGill-Ayinde

Danielle is a student at Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ.  Growing up, Danielle dealt with many family stressors, and left high school before her senior year.  Later, she obtained her GED.    Danielle is majoring in Chemical Engineering, and her aspiration is to become a process engineering manager, focusing on pharmaceutical processing and manufacturing.

Danielle Radiola

Danielle Radiola


AAUW GWA President Dorothy Quinn (left) and Scholarship Chair Caroline Mossip (right) present the 2015 AAUW GWA Branch scholarship to Denise Deal.

2015 Scholarship Winner Genise Deal, with AAUW GWA President Dorothy Quinn (left) and Scholarship Chair Caroline Mossip


To be eligible, the applicant must be:

  1. a female resident of Northern New Jersey, living in Bergen, Essex, Morris, Sussex, Hudson, Warren, Union or Passaic County.
  2. at least twenty-five years old by the application year.
  3. enrolled at an accredited college or university seeking an initial undergraduate associate’s or bachelor’s degree and expected to complete all coursework after September 2017.
  4. able to provide proof of a better than average GPA.

Students who have previously been awarded an AAUW Scholarship from any branch of the organization are not eligible for an award from the Greater Wayne Area Branch.

Application Process

Apply online or download our scholarship application form and submit by postal mail.  In all cases the required supporting documentation must be sent via postal mail.

Important: Please proofread your application for spelling and grammar since errors may influence the committee’s decision when choosing final-round applicants.

Use separate sheets for any additional information you wish to include. Please include your name at the top of any extra pages submitted.

Return your completed application and required documentation to the Scholarship Committee (mailing address below) to be received on or before Monday, April 10, 2017.  Applications that are incomplete or received after April 10, 2017 will not be considered.

The Scholarship Committee of the Greater Wayne Area Branch of AAUW will review applications and select the recipient(s).   All applicants will be notified of the committee’s decision by May 1 2017.   Finalists may be contacted for a personal interview during the application review process.

The Scholarship Award will be presented at the May, 17 2017, Annual Meeting of the Greater Wayne Area Branch of AAUW. Scholarship winners are requested to attend the dinner meeting and be prepared to give a 2-3 minute presentation on their current scholastic activity and post-graduation plans.

If sending by postal mail, send the the completed and signed application and required documentation to arrive by Monday, April 10, 2017, to:

AAUW-GWA Scholarship Committee
℅ Marianne Ritter
116 Harrison Road
Wayne, NJ 07470

Any questions regarding the scholarship, please contact the AAUW-GWA Scholarship Committee at 973-868-7288 (phone or text) or